Skip to Content

Centre for Environmental Rights – Advancing Environmental Rights in South Africa

Support Us Join our Mailing List

Virtual Library

Deadline extended to 30 June 2020 – proposed amendment to the list of animals to which the Meat Safety Act applies

21 April 2020

On 28 February 2020 the Minister of the Department of Agriculture, Land Reform published for comment an extensive amendment to Schedule 1 to the Meat Safety Act 40 of 2000. The period for comment on the proposed amendment was subsequently extended to 30 June 2020.

Schedule 1 provides a list of animal species to which the Meat Safety Act applies. The Act aims to provide for measures to promote meat safety and the safety of animal products, to establish and maintain essential national standards in respect of abattoirs, to regulate the importation and exportation of meat and to establish meat safety schemes.

Section 7 of the Meat Safety Act prohibits the slaughter of animals at places other than abattoires, as well as the sale or provision of meat for human consumption unless it has been saughtered at an abattoir. This prohibition does not apply to slaughter for own consumption or for cultural or religious purposes.

Schedule 1 currently provides as follows:


Domesticated Animals

  • Bovine animals (including the species bubalus bubalis and bison bison)
  • Donkey
  • Duck
  • Farmed deer
  • Fowl
  • Goat
  • Goose
  • Guineafowl
  • Horse
  • Kangaroo
  • Mule
  • Ostrich and other related ratite species
  • Partridge
  • Pheasant
  • Pig
  • Pigeon
  • Quail
  • Rabbit
  • Sheep
  • Turkey

Wild Game

  • Blesbuck (Damaliscus dorcas philipsi)
  • Blue wildebeest (Connochaetes taurinus)
  • Buffalo (Syncerus caffer)
  • Burchell’s zebra (Equus burchelli)
  • Crocodile (Crocodylus niloticus)
  • Eland (Taurotragus oryx)
  • Elephant (Loxodonta africana)
  • Gemsbuck (Oryx gazela)
  • Gray Rhebok (Pelea capreolus)
  • Hippopotamus (Hippopotamus amphibius)
  • Impala (Aepyceros melampus)
  • Kudu (Tragelaphus stepsiceros)
  • Mountain Reedbuck (Redunca fulvorufula)
  • Springbuck (Antidorcas marsupialis)
  • Zebra (Diplodus trifasciatus)


Contact Us

  • Cape Town

    Second Floor, Springtime Studios, 1 Scott Road, Observatory, 7925 - View Map
  • Johannesburg

    First Floor, DJ du Plessis Building, West Campus, University of the Witwatersrand, Braamfontein, 2001 - View Map

Section 24of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996

Everyone has the right to an environment that is not harmful to their health or well-being; and to have the environment protected, for the benefit of present and future generations, through reasonable legislative and other measures that prevent pollution and ecological degradation; promote conservation; and secure ecologically sustainable development and use of natural resources while promoting justifiable economic and social development.

Report a Violation

0800 205 005

Contact the National Environmental Crimes & Incidents Hotline (24 hours) or one of the national and provincial hotlines.