Skip to Content

Centre for Environmental Rights - Advancing Environmental Rights in South Africa

Support Us Join our Mailing List



Minister of Mineral Resources delivers her budget speech for 2010/11

22 April 2010 at 7:37 pm

Acknowledging the cumulative pollution impact of derelict, ownerless and unrehablitated mines in South Africa, the Minister of Mineral Resources, Susan Shabangu, announced in Parliament today that she had established a Rehabilitation Oversight Committee to drive the implementation of a rehabilitation programme for all mines which were licensed prior to 1991, and said that R52 million had been set aside for implementation of this programme.

Minister Shabangu also announced that the turnaround times for processing applications for mining rights will be reduced from 12 to 6 months, whilst the turnaround time of applications for prospecting rights will be reduced from 6 to 3 months. It is not clear how this change will be effected, as it will likely require amendments to legislation outside of the Minister’s purview, such as the National Environmental Management Act and the National Water Act.

The Minister’s full address can be accessed here.

Contact Us

  • Cape Town

    Second Floor, Springtime Studios, 1 Scott Road, Observatory, 7925 - View Map
  • Johannesburg

    First Floor, DJ du Plessis Building, West Campus, University of the Witwatersrand, Braamfontein, 2001 - View Map

Section 24of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996

Everyone has the right to an environment that is not harmful to their health or well-being; and to have the environment protected, for the benefit of present and future generations, through reasonable legislative and other measures that prevent pollution and ecological degradation; promote conservation; and secure ecologically sustainable development and use of natural resources while promoting justifiable economic and social development.

Report a Violation

0800 205 005

Contact the National Environmental Crimes & Incidents Hotline (24 hours) or one of the national and provincial hotlines.